Overweight. Out Of Shape. And Ready To Change Everything.

Posted: May 1, 2012 in About me
Tags: , ,

Another blog about fitness and weight loss and blah blah blah. To be honest, it’s hard for me to believe I’m even writing one of these. But I find myself in the odd position of possibly being an inspiration to someone out there. Someone who, like me, has been in varying degrees of unfitness for most of their adult life.

So, a bit about me. I was born in 1974 in the north of England. And I lived in England until the grand old age of 26, at which time I moved to the states to marry the love of my life. I’m 5’11” (and a little bit more…but not enough to be 6ft, arghh!) and I have never really had a huge problem with food. I was as skinny as a rake for the longest time. So much so, the sight of me in my underwear caused my dad to put a red beanie hat on my head and parade me around as “a match” in front of my family. Yes…still have issues with that one.

I started packing on the pounds in college. Ahh, beer. So good, so cheap, so full of bad calories. I went from a stealthy 5’11” and 155lbs to a much more robust 175lbs in just 3 years. Roughly 7 pounds a year of pure fat, brought on by a steady diet of crappy food, too much beer, and no exercise at all. Hey, I had studying to do. And sleeping. And sometimes, more of one than the other.

Then I went to London to become an advertising man. The ad business in London is everything you’ve heard and more. A steady diet of bad food, late nights, weekends, endless free booze and no limits. Luckily, my metabolism was kind to me, and I managed to pack on just 10 more pound over the course of five years.

When I moved to America, bad cheap food became even more accessible. That, plus the stresses of being in a new marriage, and a little depression, helped me pack on even more weight. I kept it at 185-190 lbs for a few years, then it all went to pot. And in February of 2012, when my third child, a boy, was born, I weighed in at 220lbs. My heaviest ever. Sure, it had been 20 years since I last weighed 155lbs, and that was underweight, but now I was lugging around a big gut, losing my breath after one flight of stairs, and keeping myself happy with big bags of chips and imported British chocolate. Mmmm, Cadbury’s.

So, Last month, I decided enough was enough. A change was needed. My wife deserves a husband who stays active and healthy. My kids deserve a dad who can play with them and is around when they grow older. And I deserve to hit 40 with a feeling of hope, not one of “it’s all downhill from here.”

This is a blog that will be read by me for most of the time. And maybe my beautiful and supportive wife. But if you find it, and find that my progress helps yours, then more power to you.

A fitter Brit stars here. Finally.

Comments
  1. leowfactor says:

    Congratulations on starting your journey! I hear so many people complain about their poor health or physique but then refuse to do anything about it, it’s so good to read about someone who is actually determined enough to take action. I look forward to reading about your progress and I’m sure you’ll find many like-minded people in the blogging community who can give you accountability and support. Best of luck!

    • fitterbrit says:

      Wow. The blog has been up for less than an hour, and already a comment! Thanks so much, it gives me hope that I can do this and be a better, fitter person.

Leave a Reply

