A Week Goes By. Still No Weight Loss. But…

Posted: May 14, 2012 in About me, Weight loss, Working out

…something’s clearly going on. It’s really difficult to get the hang of this, as I’m trying to lose weight at the same time as building muscle. And that means I am totally confused by the scale.

I’ve been stuck in the 205-207lb range for weeks. It’s hard to know if I’m just stuck, or if things are changing. There are subtle differences here and there though, and the main ones are clothes. They don’t fit as snugly as they used to, in some areas, and in others they’re getting a bit tight.

For instance, the arms are starting to feel snug on my tees. So maybe the old biceps are growing. Haven’t taken measurements in a few weeks, I figure it’s time soon, but I don’t want to be disappointed. After all, when you get up at 6am to go to the gym, and work your arse off for over an hour, and then you repeat that 5 days a week, it’s tough to see little to no changes.

On the other hand, my shorts and jeans are getting baggy in places. The waist bands of the jeans used to strain a bit, now they are nice and comfy. My shorts, they need a belt to stay up. So, something’s going on, even if the scale says no.

The best sign of change came from my physical last week. The nurse estimated I weighed 185lbs, she was taken back when the scale read 206. She said it was muscle throwing her off. Then, I got three blood pressure readings, all were around 110/62, and my resting heart rate was 58, down almost 20 from the same time last year. So, that’s got to be good.

All in all, change is slow, but it is happening. I am also progressing in weights at the gym. Sometimes I feel like saying sod it, sleeping until 8am, and having a big nasty fatty lunch. But I don’t. Can’t get the physique I want doing that.

It also helps to see guys like Henry Cavill in The Immortals. That guy’s six pack has a six pack!

Comments
  1. Nicoletookthis says:

    Actually, you’ve been having great results, not slow ones. Reality check for the time it takes to change your physique. You’ve been putting in the work and your progression has been great! If it went any faster, everyone would have an easy time achieving their goals. Keep it up, in less than a year’s time you will get there and the reward will be sweet!

Leave a Reply

