100 Sit Ups in 5 Mins. Kind Of.

Posted: June 5, 2012 in About me, Weight loss, Working out

So I finally reached a goal today.

Now, by most standards it’s not all that impressive. At the gym I see people knocking our sit ups like they’re reaching for the remote control. And I also didn’t do them unaided, I used a machine and had it set to 135lbs, which I think is fairly close to an actual sit up. But who knows!

Anyway, for the past few weeks, my sit ups on cardio days have been all over the place. Some days, 70, others 80. I got to 90 last week, before collapsing in a crumpled heap on the floor.

Today, I got through 5 sets of 20 in under 5 mins. Like I said, no great achievement but it did give me a smile when I finally landed the last one.

I walked away from the machine feeling chuffed and knackered, and walking like someone who’d just lost a bout with Tyson. The two girls either side of me on the other ab machines gave each other looks like “is that guy dying?” as I was grunting through them. I always hated the grunters, but sometimes, you gots to grunt. It helps.

Anyway, I hope to get the 100 done in a shorter time, maybe 3 sets of 35 at some point. And eventually, 200 in about the same time.

Measurements, I still haven’t took them. Kinda scared to, maybe I will have had little succes. I know one thing…the scale never really moves. I am hoping it’s because of the massive amounts of solid muscle I am packing on, but that’s a big hope. More likely, I am hitting a wall again. But working through it is the only way.

One day, I will be back to 185lbs, the weight I was when I came to the states in 2001. I hope it happens in 2012!

Leave a Reply

